Voice Authoring Permissions with Save, Publish and Submit Functions - Akumina Community

Voice Authoring Permissions with Save, Publish and Submit Functions

You are here:

The Voice content apps provide the ability to Save, Publish, Submit or Preview changes.  These buttons will appear in the top action bar of every content app editing interface, although are not always active as noted below.

The Akumina top action bar provides a dynamic set of buttons/actions based on the authoring permissions, content type and module selected. The following table explains the scenarios of when buttons will be displayed to the user.

Button/Action Description 
New, Pending, Unsaved Changes, Published, etc. Content status is displayed based on permissions enabled on the content app list and users role.

Preview – only shows for page types

Publish This button publishes the content changes that have been made so that they appear on the website.
Save For Content Apps that have “versioning” enabled, this button allows you to Save a version of the current content changes, but does not publish it to the website.  This allows you to make incremental changes and preview those changes without having to worry about the content changing live on the website.
Preview

For Content Apps that have preview enabled, clicking the preview button will display the cross device page preview selector in a separate page for viewing the content on various sized devices (mobile, tablet, desktop) before content is published.

Important note: The Preview function utilizes the SharePoint permissions and versioning infrastructure to determine who can see content that is in a “Pending”  (draft) status as a result of saving.   For users who can see draft items, the pending content will be displayed whether the user views the page from the content app, or just navigates to the same page using site navigation. If the logged in user cannot see draft items, then they will see the last published (approved) version of this content when the preview is selected, just as they would if they navigate to the page on the intranet. See below steps for enabling preview for a Content App.

Save,Publish Save,Submit Buttons are displayed based on permissions enabled on the content apps, and if workflows are enabled in app settings.

 

 

 

The following table describes the function of each of these buttons.

Button Details
Back Button The back button returns to the listing screen in the Voice Module.
Editorial Comments Displays the reviewers comments provided to the content author/editor.
Auto-Translate This button will appear when Auto-Translate is enabled in settings>license>global and localization.  This requires a separate key from Microsoft Cognitive Services.

For multi-lingual enable sites, this will create and convert to new destination language.  Auto-translates allows selection of certain fields to be translated or allows for all fields to be auto-translated.

Manage Translations For Multi-lingual enabled sites, this will provide the related versions for each language, and provides the ability to create new language versions for content that does not exist.
Displays the content in the default language with a dropdown list of the available languages to view the selected multi-lingual content on the site.
Full Screen  This button will expand the Voice Module to a full screen display.
Close Button Clicking the X will close the Voice Module and display the Content Manager Rail.

For additional details on the button functionality based on a users permissions, see the below section “Understanding Content Status based on Permissions and Version Settings”.

Enable Versioning Settings on the Target List

The versioning settings for the SharePoint list connected to the target Content App are set in SharePoint List Settings > Versioning Setting.  The Version settings control the approvals and  versioning for the list as well as who can see the content if it is in draft/Pending approval.

Enabling Preview for a Content App

Preview allows the business user to make and view changes to content in AppManager without making them visible to site visitors who are not authorized to view Pending content (SharePoint permission level/draft). To enable Preview mode for a Content App, use the following steps.

Enable Preview Versioning Settings

In SharePoint, enable Versioning for the SharePoint list connected to the target Content App.  For preview, the version settings for both “Require content approval…” and “Create a version each time…” must be enabled (set to yes) . Set “Draft Item Security to “Only users who can approve items (and the author of the item)”.  A user who is not the author or an approver will see the last “Approved” content when Preview is selected.

Add the Preview Link to the Content App in AppManager

In AppManager, navigate to the Content Setting screen for the target Content App.  In the “Preview” section, add at least one site page on which the preview should be viewed (you can add multiple pages if desired using the Add Preview button).  This page will appear with the new content to be previewed. The link should be the FULL URL to desired page or a dynamic URL.

 

 

  • From within the targeted Content App, the “Preview” and “Save” buttons will now be active.

Adding the Preview Link for Dynamic Content that uses the Friendly URL

If you would like to PREVIEW a dynamic page such as a News Detail or Interior page or any list with a “FriendlyUrl” column in it then the value for the “Page URL” should be:

https://{RootSharePointSiteURL}{{FriendlyUrl}}

Example:

https://example.sharepoint.com{{FriendlyUrl}}

This is assuming the FriendlyURL column in the associated Content App SharePoint list is a calculated field which includes the site path.

Note: Dynamic Content Apps already display the “FriendlyUrl” at the bottom of the content editing page (once content is Saved or Published). This can also be used to view the content.

Understanding Content Status based on Permissions and Version Settings

The buttons displayed to the user on the screen and the published/pending status of the content depends on the users editing permissions and the SharePoint List’s  “Version Settings” for approvals, versioning and draft item security.

The table below shows how the approvals, versioning and user’s permission level will determine the content state of published or pending.

Approvals = No, Versioning = Yes
Permissions Enabled Buttons Button Clicked State
Contribute or Edit Save Save Published
(Contribute or Edit) + Approval Publish, Save Save Published
Publish Published
Full Control Publish, Save Save Published
Publish Published
Approvals = Yes, Versioning = Yes
Permissions Enabled Buttons Button Clicked State
Contribute or Edit Save Save Pending
(Contribute or Edit) + Approval Publish, Save Save Pending
Publish Published
Full Control Publish, Save Save Pending
Publish Published
Approvals = Yes, Versioning = No
Permissions Enabled Buttons Button Clicked State
Contribute or Edit Save Save Pending
(Contribute or Edit) + Approval Publish, Save Save Pending
Publish Published
Full Control Publish, Save Save Pending
Publish Published
Approvals = No, Versioning = No
Permissions Enabled Buttons Button Clicked State
Contribute or Edit Publish Publish Published
(Contribute or Edit) + Approval Publish Publish Published
Full Control Publish Publish Published
Views: 197
//]]>